Common Ground

Author(s): Naomi Ishiguro

Fiction


A classic coming of age story in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN, from the acclaimed author of ESCAPE ROUTES


*An Evening Standard Must Read for 2021*
'A wonderful book, both tender and wise' Okechukwu Nzelu
'Immersive and timely... you will root for Charlie and Stan from the first page' Deepa Anappara

From the acclaimed author of ESCAPE ROUTES, a bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world, in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN.


It's a lonely life for Stan, at a new school that feels more ordeal than fresh start, and at home where he and his mother struggle to break the silence after his father's death.


When he encounters fearless, clever Charlie on the local common, all of that begins to change. Charlie's curiosity is infectious, and it is Charlie who teaches Stan, for the first time, to stand on his own two feet. But will their unit of two be strong enough to endure in a world that offers these boys such different prospects?


The pair part ways, until their paths cross once again, as adults in London. Now Stan is revelling in all that the city has to offer, while Charlie seems to have hit a brick wall. He needs Stan's help, and above all his friendship, but is Stan really there for the man who once showed him the meaning of loyalty?



Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781472273321
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Book Publishing
  • : January 2021
  • : 3.2 Centimeters X 15.7 Centimeters X 23.4 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Naomi Ishiguro
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.92
  • : 432